Enable

I am a helper. More specifically, I am a rescuer. The Lord has enabled me to be this way.

When I was a child, the story of the good Samaritan resonated with me deeply. I wondered how anyone could witness another human being in distress and just pass them by? Not me! I have lots of examples of incidents that I was able to come to someone’s rescue. I’m not talking about feats of heroism, I’m talking about just being aware of your surroundings so as to render aid when the need arises.

For example, when I was a sophomore in college for nursing, I arrived home after clinical just in time to witness a huge street fight break out at the end of my block. I was horrified to watch a bunch of men beating each other with baseball bats and clubs. I even witnessed one man swing a baseball bat at the head of another with such force as to drop that man like a sack of potatoes! Horrified into action, I ran into the house as fast as I could to call 911 and report the incident. My mom tried to stop me out of fear of being found out and possible reprisal, but I wouldn’t even hear of it!

We are all created for specific things we’re meant to do, a purpose. Because we’re created, God enables us to carry out the works we’re created for. All we have to do is show up and be willing to let God enable us. He won’t force us to do things we don’t want to do. So what is your thing? Are you willing to let God enable you to carry out the works he’s created you for?

‘For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. ‘

Ephesians 2:10

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

3 thoughts on “Enable

  1. You have a beautiful heart! And I appreciate your mission statement, “Now I believe being a missionary means getting up in the morning, walking out my front door, sharing the Gospel with whomever I meet. The whole world is the mission field.” (FMF #16)

Comments are closed.