Possible

Do you believe in the possible? When someone discourages you and says you can’t, do you believe her or do you rally and think, I’ll show you?

Before Jesus, I fell into the first camp more often than not, simply because I didn’t allow myself to do much dreaming. Mine was the voice that would say, you can’t do that because it’s irresponsible, because you have kids, because what would everyone think? Sadly, I learned discouragement from my mom, probably because she learned it from hers and so on.

Then I met Jesus. He turned the world right side up. I began to dream dreams. At 43, I dreamed of becoming a missionary. The old voice of discouragement said I was too old, it’s too costly, what about your family? But suddenly, a new voice chimed in declaring, Abraham was much older than you when the Lord told him to leave his country to go somewhere new, a place he didn’t even know! So began my journey to believing all things are possible for God and if he’s with me, nothing and no one can stop me.

So now I’ve been practicing believing the possible for fifteen years. And friends, it does take practice. I now understand that we have an enemy who wants to destroy us. When I hear that little voice saying, you can’t, I know who it is because almost always immediately after he says, you can’t, I hear another voice saying, oh but you can! He is the Holy Spirit! He is the voice of my Heavenly Father saying, with him, anything is possible!

“So they brought him. When the spirit saw Jesus, it immediately threw the boy into a convulsion. He fell to the ground and rolled around, foaming at the mouth. Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?” “From childhood,” he answered. “It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.” “ ‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.” Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!””

Mark‬ ‭9:20-24‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

10 thoughts on “Possible

  1. yes–>When I hear that little voice saying, you can’t, I know who it is because almost always immediately after he says, you can’t, I hear another voice saying, oh but you can!

    love this reminder! thank you for sharing your words!

Comments are closed.