Redeem

The day that I said yes to Jesus, there was an instant transaction that took place. He redeemed me before I even had a clue what that meant.

The dictionary definition of redeem is to gain or regain possession of something in exchange for payment.

“You were bought at a price; do not become slaves of human beings.”

1 Corinthians 7:23

Before I knew Jesus, I didn’t really know what life was for. All I could see was pain, suffering, death, war, and destruction. I figured if this is all life was about, then there really wasn’t a good reason to be alive, right?

Then, the miraculous transaction took place. Not only was I immediately saved from eternal death, I was blessed with a whole new worldview that allows me to feel joy despite how it’s all falling apart!

Friends, whenever I am tempted to fall into old patterns of thinking, I preach the Gospel to myself. I go back to that day when the Lord redeemed me. He graciously, bravely got on that cross and paid the price for my sin so I could live! He did that for you too! Let’s agree to never forget!

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

13 thoughts on “Redeem

  1. I didn’t know who Jesus was;
    I’d heard the name, so what?
    And then I paid attention ’cause
    fate kicked me in the butt,
    and all the things I thought I knew
    went for a bloody Burton,
    and when the free-for-all was through
    I found that I was certain
    that I really could not cope
    with the mess that I had made,
    and in the absence of all hope
    I hit my knees and prayed,
    and then I heard the Lord Christ sigh,
    “What WILL I do with this daft guy?”

  2. I appreciated your line that said, “I was blessed with a whole new worldview that allows me to feel joy despite how it’s all falling apart!” A new worldview changes everything.

Comments are closed.