Pressure

This past year, like most every adult in the USA, I have experienced extreme pressure such as I haven’t experienced in 8 or so years. It felt like the world exploded as a perfect storm of pandemic, racial injustice, and the election all coalesced.

I did my best to keep up with all the details surrounding all the things. I advocated for people to wear masks on social media and in real life. I explained why it is important even though it isn’t perfect.

When all the reports of murdered black people exploded on social media, I dove headfirst into purposefully relearning American history, wanting to be an ally because I have no doubt Jesus would be and I want to be like him.

Between the pandemic, the racial injustice, and the election, the USA became louder and angrier than I’ve ever witnessed in all 57 years of my life.

By mid summer I thought the pressure might crush me. I scaled back on all the things. I had to because I care sooo much about people that I cannot afford to burn out.

Life is a marathon, it’s not a sprint. I am one person, I cannot fix the world on my own. Only God can undo all of our sin.

Scaling back helped me to see how I can help. I can continue being a nurse and advocate for my patients and coworkers. I can use my vote and communicate to my senators and representatives to advocate for change. I can financially support organizations who are on the frontlines for change. I can be informed about all the issues and be encouraging to people right in front of my face. I can keep praying for the church to remember to be the church and not a nationalist organization. And finally, I can keep praying for the God of peace and justice to rain down restoration on us all.

“Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.”

— ‭‭James‬ ‭1:12‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Friends, let’s be like the people Jesus told us to be. Let’s love one another as he loves us. Let’s love our neighbors as ourselves. Let’s fight the good fight so the world will know that the Lord reigns and the Kingdom is here on earth as in heaven!

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!