Permission

“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.”‬‬

Ephesians 4:2

The hard season of injustice seems like it may never end, doesn’t it? I’m giving myself permission to talk about it because I care about black people. I care about all people. And since Jesus cared about us enough to come down here and take the penalty We deserved so We could be free, And since I believe he did that for every single living human being, and since I believe the Word of God is absolutely true, I would be remiss to not speak.

Can we the church agree to give all people of all colors and beliefs permission to be the image bearers that God created them to be without making them justify who they are to us? Can we stop being like Job’s “friends” and stop telling others how they should feel and how if they were just better people bad things wouldn’t happen to them? Can we stand with our black and brown Jesus loving, Jesus following brothers and sisters and let them know we are with them? Can we be the hands and feet of Jesus to those in the world who haven’t met him yet?

I really hope we can change. I certainly know that Jesus would want us to change.

Check out FiveMinuteFriday.