Gentle

What’s so good about Good Friday? I’m currently doing a one year chronological Bible reading plan. With the Lord timing is everything. I don’t believe in coincidence. I believe in the sovereignty of God. So today, on this Good Friday, I’m in Exodus (because I began this plan on March 1) and I just read how the firstborn of Egypt have died. I am a firstborn. I have a firstborn. I know a lot of firstborns. Wow!

Jesus Christ, is the Lamb of God, the Passover lamb. Jesus Christ is also a firstborn!

You guys! Jesus was not the One anyone expected. We’re so bound and determined to fight our way to the top, to destroy anyone who gets in our way, to prove we’re right. He came into our world and we didn’t even see him because he wasn’t the hero we were expecting.

But oh! He is definitely the Hero we’ve been waiting for!

See the man there, healing the sick, holding the children, teaching the people, feeding the multitude. He is strongly gentle. He is compassionate. He is kind. He loves all of us. He loves us so much, he weeps when we die. He loves us so much, he dies as we mock him.

All. So. We. Might. Live.

This isn’t just Good Friday, it’s the best Friday.

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

— ‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:29‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

4 thoughts on “Gentle

  1. What a connection!!! Definitely such a beautiful connection from Old to New Testament!! :). Deirdre FMF#3

Comments are closed.