Thankful_February 27_[FMF]_Visit

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is visit.

GO

I never dreamed I would be so happy or excited to live with my #1 son again.

When I left home five years ago to strike out on my own, kid free, I really thought I would be okay with the occasional visit

I quickly came to realize however, just how much I missed having someone in the same room, the camaraderie. 

Doing overseas missions left me craving my family even more. I visited so many places where family is treated with the upmost importance, unlike the USA. In the USA, independence is what we strive for. 

My whole world view changed thanks to doing missions. Missions taught me that I would much rather be together with my family then just being an occasional visitor. 

STOP

Happy friday!

16 thoughts on “Thankful_February 27_[FMF]_Visit

  1. Visiting you from FMF. I enjoyed your post. We definitely take family for granted, especially spending time with them. Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. Love this! “I would much rather be with my family than an occasional visitor.” I wonder if that’s how God feels when we present ourselves to Him as an occasional visitor rather than family. Hmmm . . . Visiting from FMF today. Blessings to you.

  3. Oh I love this Micey!
    Yes, family, being tied to other people NOT tied down is a beautiful thing. The interdependency and the serving of another; I am seeing how it very much mirrors the relationship of God the Father, God the Son, and The Holy Spirit.
    Have a great weekend and send some of that Florida warmth up to the NorthEast would ya?
    Cheers,
    Leah

    • Yes Leah! If we are created in the image of God and His image is that of family, I want to reflect that. It’s taken me almost 10 years to figure it out, but hey, I finally did! And I’m putting the warmth in the mail right now. 😉

  4. Growing up with my grandparents taught me do much about being needed. I do believe it affects our longevity and our mental strength. We were not designed to live a visitor life. Happy for you Micey!

Comments are closed.