Joy

You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Psalm 16:11

Before I met Jesus, I barely saw the world around me. I struggled with pessimism, melancholy, anxiety, and depression. I numbed my mind with alcohol and antidepressants. The world seemed dismal and gray. The glass was always half empty. My heart had become so hard it was nearly impossible for me to find joy in anything.

But God. He had a plan for me to run away to Florida and meet a girl who would tell me how Jesus changed her life. He knew I would want what she had. In the blink of an eye, I became new.

Suddenly, I could see the world around me in full dimensional color. I discovered joy. Joy in being accepted. Joy in realizing I had been given another chance to understand that I had a good life. Joy in being forgiven.

I have been more alive these last 15 years than I ever was in the first 42. I always liked being a nurse, but with Jesus, I have great joy in nursing. I have always loved hiking, but with Jesus, I have overwhelming joy being with him in this beautiful world he created.

For you shall go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and the hills before you shall break forth into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.

Isaiah 55:12

Friends, I pray you find the joy of the Lord and hang onto him with all you have! In Jesus’ name!