FiveMinuteFriday _ Purpose


GO

On this date 37 years ago, he laid on that operating table, chest closed, waiting to wake up. He didn’t wake up. His life over. His purpose fulfilled. He was my dad.

It’s an honor to remember him each year on this date, to remember his purpose. He was a Young man. He was a father. He was a hard worker. He was a provider. He was even a pioneer. Because he was brave enough to offer his heart to his surgeon to practice bypass surgery. Because of him, and others like him, people today have successful heart surgeries. Even now, 37 years later, his purpose ripples on.

I didn’t know him for very long. 16 years. He was a good dad. Always encouraging me to pursue life by his example. And through his illness, I discovered my life’s work, My purpose. I am a nurse as a direct result of my dad’s illness. How amazing is that?

STOP

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

7 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday _ Purpose

  1. Michelle, from the photo you shared, you have a strong resemblance. It is amazing to realize that all we go through, yes, even pain and losses, serve purposes beyond what we may think. I am sure your dad is most proud of you! And your heavenly Father is as well! Blessings!

  2. And your Dad was my mentor, my protector, and would always take me skating. He knew in our big family clothing was handed down. So on the first winter he picked me up & took me to a store to pick out any new winter coat i wanted! He also liked to drive fast and we did that alot. He also tought me to drive his car when i was 14. And yes Missy you can honor him on this day!!!❤❤

  3. It is wonderful that, although we get older; lose those we love; who may have been responsible for our very being, we never forget them. Their love for us shapes who we are and what we become. The seeds of our adulthood were sewn by them long ago, blossoming into today’s golden memories.

Comments are closed.