AStormIsComing

How do you make a long story short? What do you do when you find yourself in a club you didn’t sign up for?

1. Sister was diagnosed with breast cancer in July.
2. Genetic test reveals BRCA2 Gene mutation.
3. BRCA2 is a tumor suppressing Gene.
4. The mutation means the gene is broken. No tumor suppression.
5. The risk of breast cancer goes from 7% to 56% up to 87% over a lifetime.

What are the implications for my family?

1. This mutation came directly from my father or my mother.
2. There’s a 50% chance that each child born to them has the mutation.
3. If I have the mutation there’s a 50% chance that my boys have The mutation.

What would you do? I discussed it with my boys and together we decided I should be tested. It turns out I have the mutation as well. Now I am standing on the edge of a possibility I never believed would occur.

Cancer is an enemy that has creeped into the lives of far too many people. If we are to fight this war we must be armed with as much information about the enemy as possible. The Lord has gifted men and women with knowledge to defeat this enemy. Now it’s time for me to make a battle plan.

Immediately before getting the test results, I became anxious. My merciful heavenly Father reminded me of Psalm 91. I believe he was preparing me for this moment. He was not surprised. He created me. He created every strand of DNA and every person on this planet.

And since I cannot unknow what I know now, I will keep moving forward in faith. I will not be shaken. I refuse to be shaken. My life is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness. I will stand firm!

1 Those who go to God Most High for safety will be protected by the Almighty. 2 I will say to the LORD, “You are my place of safety and protection. You are my God and I trust you.” 3 God will save you from hidden traps and from deadly diseases. 4 He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you can hide. His truth will be your shield and protection. 5 You will not fear any danger by night or an arrow during the day. 6 You will not be afraid of diseases that come in the dark or sickness that strikes at noon. 7 At your side one thousand people may die, or even ten thousand right beside you, but you will not be hurt. 8 You will only watch and see the wicked punished. 9 The LORD is your protection; you have made God Most High your place of safety. 10 Nothing bad will happen to you; no disaster will come to your home. 11 He has put his angels in charge of you to watch over you wherever you go. 12 They will catch you in their hands so that you will not hit your foot on a rock. 13 You will walk on lions and cobras; you will step on strong lions and snakes. 14 The LORD says, “Whoever loves me, I will save. I will protect those who know me. 15 They will call to me, and I will answer them. I will be with them in trouble; I will rescue them and honor them. 16 I will give them a long, full life, and they will see how I can save.” (‭Psalms‬ ‭91‬:‭1-16‬ NCV)

Happy Thursday!

Sharing with the thinkers at Lyli’s place.

8 thoughts on “AStormIsComing

  1. I’m glad you wrote this Michelle. It is scary stuff at times.. There will always be a tension (I believe) between walking by faith, and dealing with the nitty gritty “stuff” we get to walk through this side of eternity. Any Christian who tells me, they have never battled fear has either never experienced real suffering or is lying. DM

  2. Where can we go when the events in our lives bring fear? God’s word! I am glad you pointed to the scripture. God is our ever present help–and may you feel his presence.

  3. That is a hard spot to be in. 😦 Praying for wisdom and peace as you decide what, if anything, you do next. I was recently tested for genetic colon cancer, but thankfully it turned out negative (even though I have had cancerous colon polyps, the irony).

Comments are closed.