Thankful_July31_August6

Here I am in Arizona. 54 weeks. Here I am alive. 2769 weeks! Haha! What can I say? I really like counting things and making lists. Boy I am thankful!

7•31.                                                               1645. “But the LORD said to Samuel, “Don’t look at how handsome Eliab is or how tall he is, because I have not chosen him. God does not see the same way people see. People look at the outside of a person, but the LORD looks at the heart.”” 1 Samuel‬ ‭16:7‬ ‭NCV‬‬.                 1646. Walking the canal with my favorite #1son.                                                           1647. Skype with a dear friend from MercyShips.

8•1
1648. “Seek first God’s kingdom and what God wants. Then all your other needs will be met as well.” Matthew‬ ‭6:33‬
1649. Mostly cloudy means mostly cool means mostly spectacular!
1650. Car camping.

8•2
1651. “Always remember what is written in the Book of the Teachings. Study it day and night to be sure to obey everything that is written there. If you do this, you will be wise and successful in everything.” Joshua‬ ‭1:8‬ ‭NCV‬‬
1652. Getting something done in a timely fashion.
1653. Sitting on the patio watching a storm.

8•3
1654. “You are not the same as those who do not believe. So do not join yourselves to them. Good and bad do not belong together. Light and darkness cannot share together.” 2 Corinthians‬ ‭6:14‬ ‭NCV‬‬
1655. Discovering the ‘merge’ button in spreadsheets
1656. Stomping through mud means dirty feet and lots of rain which is good for the desert.

8•4
1657. “and rend your hearts and not your garments.” Return to the Lord your God, for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love; and he relents over disaster.” Joel‬ ‭2:13‬ ‭ESV‬‬
1658. Buying breakfast and sharing the gospel of John with three new friends outside my motel.
1659. Even though I missed the call for mammogram results, I am not afraid.

8•5
1660. “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” Philippians‬ ‭4:11-13‬ ‭ESV‬‬
1661. Mammogram is negative. No cancer. Thankful but sad too because I don’t understand how sickness keeps affecting my sister?
1662. Scrubbing! It doesn’t happen that often so when it does I am so thankful!

8•6
1663. The message of Hebrews 11 and 12 is “KEEP GOING,” not “DO SOMETHING AWmESOME.” Any sense of a final destination of arrival in our faith journey is an illusion: there is no arriving, there is only following. And we do not follow just as a means to an end—the following is both the means and the end. We follow Jesus one faithful step after one faithful step, growing in love and knowledge. The faithful life I’m talking about is the race marked out for YOU. There was only one David, only one Rahab, and there’s only one YOU. You can’t focus on what race others are running or how fast they seem to be going; you have to lock your eyes on Jesus and His grace for you in your next step, which most likely will be a tiny action that you may repeat countless times.
1664. “And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” Hebrews‬ ‭11:6‬ ‭ESV‬‬
1665. It was so good to get back on the AZT and hike 10+ miles while watching a thunderstorm over the Rincon mountains.

Happy Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Thankful_July31_August6

  1. Congrats on your good mammogram results. Prayers for your sister – and yes, life just isn’t fair sometimes.

    And I love the words on faith in #1663 – are those your words? I found them inspiring. And most encouraging. So often I compare my walk with other people, and in comparing, I judge myself to be a lousy Christian. I loved this: “…there is no arriving, there is only following.” That was beautiful…

    GOD BLESS!

Comments are closed.