Generous_August4

I believe a key component to living generous is being able to forget about myself. But how? How does anybody forget about himself?

Cancer has come to visit my family. He was not invited. I do not have the gift of hospitality. I have a hard time inviting anyone into my life. So cancer was certainly not on my list.

I knew my sister had a mammogram. I knew they saw something suspicious. I knew they sent her for a biopsy immediately. I expected everything to be fine. Because 99% of the time everything is fine.

But on July 6, I received a text message with two words, “It’s cancer”. 

I wish I could tell you that my first thought was, “what does this mean for my sister and her family?” Sadly, I’m almost certain my first thought was, “oh no! I’m not ready for this!” My own selfishness breaks my heart because it seems to always be my knee-jerk first response to any situation, “How is this going to affect me?”

But I also think I’m too hard on myself. We are all too hard on ourselves aren’t we?

Because in less than a second after I thought of myself, I did immediately think of what cancer is going to do to my sister and her husband and her children and the rest of my whole family. And I told My sister I would take her place if I could because I love her and I would do anything for her!

And isn’t that the mark of Jesus in me?

“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”

‭‭John‬ ‭15:13‬ ‭ESV‬‬

Generous sacrifice. Generous availability. 

My sister has already begun the long odyssey ahead of her. She’s having surgery 8•23. Please pray for complete annihilation of the disease.  For effective chemo. For wisdom for her doctors. For peace in the journey for her and her husband and her children. And most importantly, for them to meet the Lord. Pray for her caretakers to be in love with Jesus, for them to share Jesus with my sister and her family. Thank you!

Even in times like these I am thankful. Happy Thursday!

Sharing with Lyli.

2 thoughts on “Generous_August4

Comments are closed.