Generous_May26

Saying yes to whatever the Lord wants isn’t easy and doesn’t always appear obvious to me until after the day ends. 

I’m currently between contracts. 2 weeks of regrouping and refreshing. I was actually only hoping for 1 week but with Memorial Day in the mix, I ended up with 2 weeks. I figure it’s the perfect time to try out the local staffing agency. I let them know I was available to work Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday this week and next week. 

I’m flexible enough to go wherever I’m needed. Yesterday I worked at a surgery center. The agency booked me there for this week. Cool. I was done in 4 hours. Meh. Not much but okay. #1son asked what the hourly rate is? Good question. I don’t even know. I suppose I could ask, but it’ll be a surprise. The Lord is generous. He always provides for my needs. 

Soon after I got home, the agency called to say the surgery center wouldn’t need me for today. Would I like to go back on the availability list? I hesitated for a split second before I said yes. We said goodbye. About 5 minutes later the phone rang again. That was fast! Would I like to go to this hospital in Tempe? Sure!

This little community OR is 10 minutes from my place. The staff were super friendly and happy for my help. They asked if I would come back. When I said yes, the charge nurse hugged me! She asked if I could stay an extra hour. When I said yes, she hugged me again! So sweet. 

But the best part came when one of the techs noticed my tattoo of Philippians1:20 on my arm and asked me what it said. I told him. He said he liked that. 

Later, while I was looking for a piece of equipment, he asked me if he could call himself a Christian even though he still swears and isn’t good all the time? I asked him if he believes Jesus died on the cross to take away his sins? He said yes. I said, then yes, you are a Christian. Then I explained grace. That God doesn’t love us based on our works but on the finished work of Christ. So he loves us no matter if we’re having a good day or a bad day. That we do good works because we love God , not to prove we are good. I asked him if that helped answer his question? He said yes! Praise the Lord! Being available, being flexible allowed God to move me to a tiny place for one or two people who needed to know his generous love for them!

I’m okay with waiting to see my paycheck, to let God surprise me. I love him more than money! And his surprises are absolutely the best!

Happy Thursday!

Sharing over at Lyli’s.

3 thoughts on “Generous_May26

Comments are closed.