FiveMinuteFriday_Expect

GO

I don’t like this word, expect. This word gets me into more trouble than other words. Particularly with people I don’t know well. When I expect things to be a certain way, when I expect people to be a certain way, I am really forcing my will upon them. I set impossibly high standards for others that I can’t even attain to myself. So when others miss my high mark I am all kinds of disappointed in them because they let me down.

It’s not right or even a little bit fair.

As the old saying goes, there’s more than one way to skin a cat. So I decided some time ago to throw expectations out the window and let people be who God made them to be, loving them ‘as is’, leaving the expectations to him.

STOP

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

5 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Expect

  1. So true, it’s easy to put our expectations onto other people but it’s not fair to do that when God has created them differently.

  2. I love the image of throwing expectations out the window and loving people as they are…like how God loves us except God has the power to change us from the inside out, if we cooperate 🙂 Glad to visit you again 🙂

Comments are closed.