Generous_May12

10.5 years. That’s how long I’ve known Jesus. All these years. I still struggle with misperceptions. I still throw up the wall when I think that other person doesn’t like me.  It’s an involuntary reflex. But I catch myself doing it now so that’s something. 

Generous is the word the Lord gave me for 2016. Not in the money or stuff connotation. But in the life connotation. In the ‘stop assuming the worst about others because you’re misreading their signals’ kind of way. 

I caught myself doing it with a new girl who started just recently. My perception of her silence being I’m not worth her bother. When maybe she’s just shy or quiet. 

The generous way is to believe the best in others instead of assuming the worst. And I wonder how long will it be before I believe this? Truly?

This is what I’m thinking about. 

Happy Thursday!

Sharing with Lyli.

6 thoughts on “Generous_May12

  1. I do it too! (misread signals) …Let ‘s see..I became spiritually awakened when I was 22…doing the math, that was over 30 years ago..wow. I am SO thankful He turned the lights on when He did..

  2. I never thought about the idea of being generous as it applies to giving others “the benefit of the doubt.” Hmmm. That’s a really helpful and good insight. I too am guilty of misinterpreting the ways people act or the things they say – filtering their actions and words through my insecure-colored glasses. Maybe stopping that natural tendency and truly giving someone a chance is indeed generous. I like that, Michelle.

    GOD BLESS!

  3. What a great way to practice generosity–by giving people the benefit of the doubt! I try to do what you have described and it really does make a difference. You never know why someone is acting a certain way, and there’s always a good chance it has nothing to do with you! Glad to be your neighbor at Thought-Provoking Thursday.

Comments are closed.