Generous_April21

Went to visit #2son this past weekend in Gainesville. He asked me to attend a retreat his church holds 4 times a year. I signed up, but was reluctant, the enemy planting seeds of fear and doubt as to what a retreat would hold for me. But isn’t he just like that? Filling our heads with lies and discouragement. I confess I am ashamed of my own fear and doubt, as if I had not spent the last 10+ years being extravagantly loved by God. As if he has been anything but generous to me. So generous that he lets me leap back into his arms over and over when I forget, when I turn around and see he was standing there all along. So generous that he reminds me if I had been the only one, he would still have died for me. So generous that he had purposed a time for me to be loved on by complete strangers who prayed for me, affirmed me, served me, blessed me. At just the right time, when he knew how hard and sad the last month has been. In his perfect timing. Oh my soul magnify the Lord! Extravagant, generous love. Filling me up again so I can pour myself out again. Generously. 

Happy Thursday!

Sharing with Lyli.

4 thoughts on “Generous_April21

  1. “the enemy planting seeds of fear and doubt as to what a retreat would hold for me. But isn’t he just like that? Filling our heads with lies and discouragement. ” Good reminder and warning. Glad you chose to push past and go anyway…

  2. “as if I had not spent the last 10+ years being extravagantly loved by God.” This is good. I guess that’s one reason why God tells us to remember, remember, remember! He has done great things in our past; he will stay with us in our future. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.