Trekking_ThoughtsOnTheArizonaTrail

A few years ago, I saw a movie called ‘The Way’ about a long hike through the Pyrenees. For some it was a journey of forgiveness. For others, discovery, finding oneself. And my dream of the long hike was born. It is a very romantic notion and one that takes me by surprise because I don’t think I am the least bit romantic. And since then I have been absorbing everything I can get my hands on dealing with the long hike. Blogs, books, Instagram feeds. 

And I wonder, am I in love with the idea or the reality? I think it may be a little bit of both if that makes sense?

I love hiking far. I love popping up my tent. I love sleeping under the stars. I love hearing the song of nature. I love the solitude. I love the camaraderie. 

I don’t love the dirt. I don’t love the gallons of water I have to carry. I really don’t love the dirt!

So I guess it’s about finding the balance. I do think section hiking the trail may be the perfect blend for me. Not too short. Not too long. Just right. 

For my next AZTAdventure, I may go out for 2 nights to see how I fare. Build up to a longer backpack/hike experience. 

In the meantime, I’ll keep on trekking. 

Happy Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “Trekking_ThoughtsOnTheArizonaTrail

  1. Keeping trekking sounds like the best plan! SO does doing a part of the trail rather than taking on the whole lot!
    I’d love to be there!!! (Though, I’ve always had a hankering for Route 66!

    Sending love

    ff

    Oh! And! Have you seen the film ‘Into The Wild’?

  2. Trekking. I like the sound of that. I am currently not doing any trekking, but I love the idea of it. So far, I guess I’m all caught up in the romantic part?! You are my inspiration, and if I get myself in gear, you’ll be the first to know. Part of the Pacific Crest Trail passes through our town. Hmmm…

    GOD BLESS!

    • I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I need to visit you in your town so I can get on that trail! Little bits at a time. Did you know that the first 600 miles of the PCT go through the Mohave Desert!? It’s way more deserty than the Sonoran Desert. Really.

Comments are closed.