FiveMinuteFriday_Whole

Ready…

Set…

GO

Remember that story by Shel Silverstein called ‘The Missing Piece’? My favorite #2son has that illustration tattooed on his arm. I love that story. I love the illustration. I can relate to that story. I spent years and years searching for my own missing piece. I never felt whole. I always felt like something was missing. I felt half at best, usually much less at worst. 

When my dad died, I felt like God had sucker punched me. So I told him I’d never speak to him again. I went from 3/4 to 1/4 in an instant. I spent 26 years searching for my missing piece. I couldn’t find it. Try as I might. I looked for it in relationships. Nope. I looked for it in a bottle of alcohol. The bottles got bigger and deeper, but it wasn’t there. I looked for it in tattoos. I got a lot of doodles on my skin, but it wasn’t there either. I tried online communities. They sort of helped a little, but again I struck out. 

When I finally concluded I couldn’t find it and maybe I would never find it, I decided to give up and die. Then my friend told me about Jesus. How he changed everything for her. My heart leaped a little. Could Jesus be it? The missing piece? I took one last chance. I cried out to Jesus to save me. And he did! I finally found it! My missing piece! After 26 long years I became whole

STOP

Happy FiveMinuteFriday!

5 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Whole

  1. Dear Micey,
    Such a beautiful piece. I have read your story before of course, but it never gets old.
    Well done!
    Enjoy your weekend.
    Cheers,
    Leah

  2. Your short testimony here has made my eyes prickle a little bit…
    It’s a good reminder of where I should be setting my sights, rather than on other distractions. Searching to get better by all sorts of means but it all has to come from Him.

    Thank you

    firefly xxx

Comments are closed.