FiveMinuteFriday_Decide

Ready…

Set…

Go

When I wake up everyday, I am faced with choices. How do I decide to choose right?

For example, today I woke up, did my morning run, morning devotions, supply gathering for a big hike tomorrow. I put my phone back on the charger, took a shower, got dressed, and headed out the door for work. I drove 17 miles to the hospital. I decided to check my Arizona Trail app to see if it really does work on airplane mode. And that’s when I realized I left my phone on my nightstand! 😳

Okay. Now I had to decide what to do. Would I have a panic attack? You never completely realize how attached you are to a device until suddenly you don’t have it. I confess I had to talk myself down. I had to decide the sky is not falling. I had to decide to figure out how to find the important phone numbers to write down and keep in my wallet for an emergency. I decided I probably should have checked that trail app days ago instead of at the last minute

So that is that. The sky is not falling. I’m only going to be separated from my device for 9 more hours. The sun will set. The sun will rise. God is still on his throne. God is still in control. All is right with my world.

STOP

This is FiveMinuteFriday.

 

13 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Decide

  1. Oh, boy, can I relate!
    We have become so attached to our mobile devices. They have become more than “phones” for sure!
    Good luck with your unanticipated day of phone-fasting.
    -Sarah (stopping by from Five Minute Friday.)

  2. Hah, totally relatable tale! My screen has broken on my phone and I can’t repair it until I get paid…I’ve been almost one month without it and – wow – what freedom! It can, at times, become a crutch…..here’s to a brilliant hike for you this weekend…(looking forward to seeing your contentment piece!!!)….Helen xxx

  3. Great Post Micey!
    I think we have all been there. It is a good reminder to not let technology and the supposed connivence it brings you dominate our perspective, our functionality It is definitely a constant hard decision.
    Cheers,
    Leah

  4. you are an amazing and inspirational person Micey! I admire the clarity I find in your writing… Your message here is so striking and I’m so glad that you didn’t panic. It’s so hard when suddenly a ‘routine’ of some kind is broken… that feeling of lostness but the reality that actually, nothing ‘bad’ will happen and the world will just carry on with you in it!!

    Sending love
    xxx

Comments are closed.