Generous_March31

Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love —Mother Teresa

The last patient of the day was a 90 year old whisp of a woman who fell down and broke her hip. She lay in her bed, barely able to move from the pain. Her son sat beside her and teased her that when she was finally able to have water, it would fill her out and make her look young again. I felt like I was seeing a vision of me and my boys in 40 years. 

I asked her my requisite questions and then asked her if she had any questions for me. All she asked for was some Vaseline for her lips because they were so dry. I didn’t have Vaseline, I told her, BUT I had Carmex. I told her it is like Vaseline, but better. Then a put a dab on my finger and rubbed it on her lips and told her to smack them together like lipstick. Then she smiled and thanked me, her eyes a little brighter. 

These moments. These tiny moments make what I do worth all the frustration, all the exhaustion. Oh there are the grand moments of saving lives, but these little moments are just as important. Small things. Generous things. 

Happy Thursday!

Sharing with Lyli.

2 thoughts on “Generous_March31

  1. Such an important reminder for us all – it is the little things each day which are truly the big things. May I be willing to do the small. Grateful to have been your neighbor yesterday although I didn’t get to come here until today 🙂 But the message was on time! Blessings!

Comments are closed.