Trekking_Move2Ranges

Saturday, I did a hike that got me into the mountains outside of Tucson. Move2Ranges took place in the Tortolita Mountains and the Catalina Mountains. 

The weather was perfect. Not too hot. Not too cold. I had a hiking buddy all day which makes the distance disappear. 

Since the event was supported, there were plenty of snacks and water provided. I ate bananas and oranges and fruit snacks and power bars. I love to eat and one of the benefits of hiking far is burning lots of calories so I can stuff my face to my heart’s content. 😜

The best part of the hike came on the Romero Pools Trail in the Catalinas. When we got to the top of a 2000 foot elevation gain, there were pools of water! Crystal clear. Deep. Running water. It was simply amazing! Made that climb totally worth it as I took off my trail runners and sank my aching feet into the cold cold water. So very thankful for that. And since I wore a long sleeve swimming shirt, I took it off and soaked it in the ice cold water, wrung it out, and put it back on. It was like wearing air conditioning for a whole 30 minutes until the wind and sun dried it off. 30 minutes of Arctic refreshment!

The not best part of the day came in the miscalculated mileage (it was supposed to be 20.5 miles, but was really 18.5) and the early breakdown of trail support. I don’t know who thought people could hike 20.5 miles in less than 8 hours? 

In the end, it was a great day and it was great preparation for this coming weekend when I will kick off my section hike of the Arizona Trail in the Huachuca Mountains. Stay tuned for that story. 

Distance hiked :: 18.61miles :: the farthest yet!

Total distance hiked this year :: 162.14miles

Total distance to go :: 837.86

$19 donated to MercyShips. I’m donating $1 for every mile I walk. Would you consider matching me dollar for dollar? They are an amazing organization who does free surgery for the poorest nations in Africa. I spent a year with them as a volunteer. It was one of the very best years of my life. Check them out at MercyShips.

Happy Tuesday!

