Trekking_Dutchman’sTrail

After the epic hike I had this past Monday, I decided I needed to break that new personal best. So today I took a hike in the Superstition Wilderness. Yes there is such a place. And it is absolutely stunning in its beauty. The Lord sure knows how to create beautiful things!
I started early, as the sun was rising. Because here in the AZ you need to get a jump on the heat. 

Since I walked 16.5 miles on Monday, I decided to shoot for 18 miles today. The plan, walk 9 miles or 4.5 hours, whichever came first, then double back. I was not having any repeats of being stranded again. 

I have to say I made excellent time. The only set backs being minor. At mile 7ish, I encountered a Gila monster! These are endangered. When I asked him for his photo, he stuck his tongue out at me and moved on. At mile 8.8, I encountered a rattle snake!!! As I came around a curve, I heard the distinct rattle begin, a little too close to the trail I might add. I screamed so loud the rattler took off like a flash away from me! Hahahahaha! That woke me out of my hiking reverie! Other than that and a new blister, this was an epic hike!

18.03 miles! 143.53 miles down, 856.47 miles to go! 

Will you donate $18 dollars to MercyShips in support? You know you want to!

Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Trekking_Dutchman’sTrail

  1. You are amazing! Simply inspirational, and I enjoy reading about your hiking adventures. When you were in the Superstition Mountains, did you find the Lost Dutchman’s Mine?! Or is Mr. Gila Monster keeping its whereabouts secret???

    GOD BLESS!

Comments are closed.