FiveMinuteFriday_Surprise

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, generous, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is surprise.

Go
Ah yes. The surprise. I don’t like them. Not really. I mean, they’re really hard to pull off what with all the people involved having to keep a secret. I’d rather be the one doing the surprising than be the one getting the surprise. But why?

I tried to find  a survey with the statistics of the surprise, people who like them vs people who don’t. I couldn’t find one. I confess I didn’t try very hard either, just a cursory Google search. 

I don’t like being surprised because of the lack of control in it all. I’m not a complete control freak, but there is a certain amount of comfort I get in having a clue about what might be happening today. I don’t need to know what’s going to happen a month or three from now, but with that month? I like to have a ballpark idea. 

This is something that’s gotten better because I know the Lord. Before him, I was a lot more anxious about the future. 

So there you have it in a brushed on the surface nutshell. I’m still a bit of a control freak who doesn’t enjoy surprises.

STOP

Happy Friday!

2 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Surprise

  1. Love your take on this word. It’s so true that we like surprises but we don’t want to be taken by surprise. Does that make sense? I am grateful that even when I am taken by surprise, our God is there to steady me. I am glad I stopped here this morning! Blessings to you!

  2. I also don’t like surprises. Have loved seeing your hiking adventures via IG! Keep on doing your great work! (What a worthy charity; I will donate when I’m able to…). Helen xx

Comments are closed.