Generous_March10

The first step in being generous is being willing to be generous. I believe in the Lord’s perfect timing. He’s so kind and merciful and gentle. When I became his adopted daughter, he didn’t force me to change a thing. He just keeps gently nudging me in the right direction. He stands behind me, encouraging me. And when he knows I’m ready for something, he drops it in my lap, even when I’m not sure if I’m ready. 

After 10 years of relationship with my Lord, he’s nudged me toward generous. Not the monetary kind. But the self kind. I always think it’s funny how I ended up being a nurse. It takes a certain amount of generosity to be in this profession. But it’s always been okay. I developed a very thick skin. It’s a level of serving that has pretty defined starting and stopping points. I only have to be generous for x amount of hours x amount of days per week. My formula makes for limited generosity. 

But with Jesus, there are really no halfways. There are many grey areas in life, but Jesus is an all in kind of man. So the whole generous thing has just gotten more real. The Lord is leading me into deeper water. And I am following him because I know he can make me walk on the waves. Life is getting sweeter by the minute and I’m so very thankful and wonder how anyone could love me so much or any better?

Happy Thursday!

Sharing with Lyli.

