Generous_March3

36 years. On this day, 36 years ago, my dad passed away. It still ranks as the hardest day of my life. And the amazing and mind blowing thing to me is that it was a hard day for the Lord as well. It’s the day I told him I would never speak to him again. I told him I didn’t believe he was real. 

But God is so generous. In my distress, he never left me. Even though I ignored him for 26 years. Even when I tried to use him in that *genie in a bottle* way people use him. He is so generous that he timed my study today to speak specifically to how he is with me in my distress.

“The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of destruction assailed me; the cords of Sheol entangled me; the snares of death confronted me. In my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.” ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭18:4-6‬ ‭ESV‬‬

When I read the last line, I read In my distress I should have called upon the Lord; to my God I should have cried for help. And even though I did neither of those things  from his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears. 

Is there anyone on earth who will love me better or so generously?

Dear God, thank you for the man who was my dad here on earth. Thank you for the 16 years I got to have him. It wasn’t much time but it was more time than some people will ever have. He was a good dad and I pray he is with you in heaven that I may be reunited with him again. Comfort my brother, sister, and mother on this day as they also remember his life. And since they don’t know you the way I do, I would also humbly ask you to not give up on them either. I trust you with their lives the way I trust you with mine. I love you Jesus. Amen

Celebrate Thursday generously!

Sharing with Lyli.

4 thoughts on “Generous_March3

  1. Such a tough lesson. Thank you for your encouraging words in this post! Praying God’s comfort to surround you even closer on the tough days.

Comments are closed.