Trekking_SuperstitionRidgelineTrail

Had my first backpacking adventure this past weekend. I went with a great group of ladies and my favorite #1son. Poor kid. He was totally outnumbered. The following are some of the take aways from this adventure. 

  • 30 pounds doesn’t seem like much when you only have to lug it from your front door to your vehicle, but on your back? For almost 9 hours? Up the side of a mountain for 1900+ feet? You might as well be lugging a boulder. 30 pounds is way heavier than my small brain could comprehend. 
  • When trekking into the Arizona desert, one must start before the sun rises, not 9:30am. 
  • Do not look up to the peak. You won’t want to climb. Besides, you’re probably just looking at a saddle anyway. You’ll reach it only to discover you have another trillion feet to go, get discouraged, and cry. 
  • I ::must:: get a new backpack. 
  • If you think you have enough water, you don’t. You need more. 
  • All those cute posts about how to pack a backpack the right way are only true for those individuals. There’s more than one way to skin a cat. 
  • Always be prepared for the unexpected. Like when you go a mile past the turnoff for the trailhead and you have to back track just to start. Or half your party follows a different cairn. 
  • Discovering you brought things you probably wouldn’t use that just made your pack heavier. Every little ounce makes a difference. 
  • Always. Always. Always. Stay together. Always. 
  • Discuss what to do in the event one sub group gets ahead of the other and you lose each other. 
  • Never use living things as a way to balance yourself. For example trees or bushes. *got this tip from an experienced member of the group*
  • Accidents are not bound to happen, but be prepared. For a slide down the side of the mountain because I stepped a little too close to the edge. Or falling into a cactus or two because my legs were tired. Or rolling my ankle climbing down into a canyon because my legs were tired. 
  • Sleeping on rocks is better on a therm-a-rest air mattress and cushy sleeping bag. 
  • The view of the stars on top of the ridgeline was magnificent. The moon was pretty great too. 
  • Sometimes plans change. We wanted to go straight through the ridgeline and down the flatiron but we took that wrong turn and underestimated how much water we needed. So wisdom dictated we call it a weekend and go back the way we came. 
  • I prayed. A lot. Like literally. I cried a lot too. 
  • Make sure people know where you’re going and when you’re due back so if you don’t show up they can send out a search party. 
  • I’m not nearly as tough as I think I am. 

Overall it was a successful first backpack adventure. Will I do it again? I believe I will. After the pain has dulled and a little time has passed so I can look back and laugh. It sure was something!

Happy Tuesday!

    4 thoughts on “Trekking_SuperstitionRidgelineTrail

    1. Great lessons!! I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of The Narrows in Zion National Park. It’s a passage between huge, towering rock cliffs, along the Virgin River. I’ve done a handful of day-hikes with my family. Well, a few years ago, my sons and husband and I decided to hike from the top of the Narrows to the bottom – about 17 miles. We did all our research, and found over and over again that the hike could be accomplished in 12-13 hours by the “average hiker.” We figured we were in great shape, as we were taking two days to accomplish it.

      Well…best laid plans.

      It took us almost 23 hours to finish the hike. Our backpacks were too heavy (my fault), we took too much food and clothing – and finally arrived with blisters, slightly dehydrated, completely exhausted, and maybe a bit delirious??? I will never understand how the “average hiker” could make this trip in that amount of time, as you have to hike back and forth across the river, and navigate over river rocks, fast currents, and impassable areas where you had to swim. Our legs were so sore for the next several days that we could not move. We added an extra day at the hotel just so we could stay in bed, eat pizza and watch TV.

      But I’m rather proud of the fact that I did it. (And yes, I don’t count the tears!!) Don’t you feel the same?! And though I might not be as tough as I want to be, I think I might be tougher than I think.

      Huzzah for your adventure!

      GOD BLESS!

      • Yes Sharon I have heard of the narrows! Also heard it is a really tough hike! So cool that you did it! I can’t wait to get up there for Angels Landing! Thanks for your encouragement! When I was in the USAF once upon a time, I had to repel down a 100ft wall. I cried all the way down. But at the bottom, the Marine slapped me on the shoulder and said good job, it doesn’t matter that you cried, you did it and didn’t quit. So yeah. I did it!

    2. The first adventure is always the hardest from here on it will be a breeze live learn and fall in love with Gods master piece! You go girl!

    Comments are closed.