Generous_February11

Several years ago, I was in my car going through the drive thru bank machine. I think I withdrew $60. When I approached the road to pull away, there was a woman who basically jumped in front of my car. She boldly approached my window and asked me for money. She was homeless and desperate because she had children to take care of. There were no children with her. Would I give her money? I remember being really angry as I begrudgingly handed her $20. I didn’t believe her story. I still don’t believe her story. I felt conned. 

But now, years later, I believe even a con woman needs to be given love. Generous love. Because what shaped her life? And what’s the point of giving anything if you can’t give it with love?

I know another person who is generous to a fault. He’d give you the shirt off his back if you needed it. BUT, he doesn’t have an ounce of compassion in his bones. And I’m at a loss. How can you be generous and NOT compassionate?

I really want to be both. Because like Paul says:

“If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.” ‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭13:3‬ ‭ESV‬‬

Happy Thursday!

Sharing with Lyli.

5 thoughts on “Generous_February11

  1. I gave money in a situation similar to that. He said if I gave him my address he’d mail what he owed me. I told him to just pass it on to someone else in need. A week later, he was in the same spot on the off ramp of the interstate pan-handling the same story. I called the police that week! Some people make a living out of this. I’ve thought about what I’d do next time, and I think next time, I’d be a little more direct. I’d tell them that I didn’t think they needed it, that they weren’t telling me the truth, but I’m giving it to them with the hope that maybe this money would open their eyes to the love of Jesus Christ who pursues them and loves them more than they can fathom – and I hope they’d see Jesus somehow in that encounter.

  2. It’s frustrating to see so many people asking for handouts and most of the time you have no way of knowing who is really in need and who is just playing the system. God knows your heart in the giving and both you and the recipient can be blessed in the gift.

Comments are closed.