FiveMinuteFriday_Quiet

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, generous, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is quiet.

GO

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.”‭‭Psalm‬ ‭121:1-2‬ ‭ESV‬‬

So I moved to Phoenix Arizona back in July. Since then, I have fallen in love with hiking. There is spectacular hiking in Arizona! When I leave my apartment, I lift my eyes up to the hills. In every direction! I am continually reminded of the Lord in this place. Amazing! The best part of it all is the quiet. You have to experience it to believe it. In the middle of a city of around 4.5 million people! I step onto the trail, move up the mountain, and it hits me in the face. Quiet. I don’t know how he does it. But I am so amazed and grateful for his generous preservation of the wilderness. Growing up and living on the east coast all my life led me to believe there were no quiet places left on earth. Oh how happy I am to discover I was wrong!

STOP

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Quiet

  1. Dear Micey,
    Such a great post. There is something recharging and soothing at the same time about being out in nature in solitude. Not to mention, hiking gives you killer legs!
    Cheers!
    Leah

  2. Micey,
    Thank you for this post. Living on the east coast I understand how hard it can be to find peace and quiet – and how terrifying quiet can be once it is found. I’m glad you have found your solitude in nature!
    Happy Friday!
    Elizabeth

  3. Love this. When we moved to Colorado (when I was 10) I embraced Psalm 121 as my “life verse.” It still fills me with awe and resonates deeply when we hike these mountains. And, there is something so incredible about the trails in Arizona… I used to love the solitude of hiking. Now, with two kiddos, it’s more of an exploration. 😉 Thanks for these thoughts! (Visiting from FMF)

Comments are closed.