FiveMinuteFriday_Present

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, generous, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is present.

GO

Most days, I have a hard time being present. To be  present is to be here, to put others before one’s mind. There is a generosity of self when one is present. Yes. This is a daily struggle for me. I find myself drifting in thought most of the day. Ask my #1son. He can talk to me about his day and my mind will just drift away. It’s just so wrong and I don’t have any understanding as to why my brain does this? But! I am determined to let God change me. Even if it hurts. I know he can do it. He is more than able to help me learn how to be present because he is always present

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭46:1‬ ‭ESV‬‬

STOP

Happy Friday!

14 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Present

  1. Dear Micey,
    Yes the drifting! I know what you mean. It just turns in static because it is not that interesting to me…so horrible I know. God is definitely wok on me as well to PAT ATTENTION!
    A real challenge when you have 4 very verbal daughters.
    Has anyone ever started to tell you about their dream they had last night, and you literally walk out of the room…I have!
    Cheers,
    Leah

  2. wow! sorry about the typos…I’m at someone else’s PC right now and in a hurry, can you tell. That was supposed to read: PAY ATTENTION if you did not catch that.
    Post-Cheers

  3. Well done! There are so many distractions in our culture that it’s hard to stop and be present. But when we do there is a deep connection that is real and lasting. And trust is built. Whether in work or fun times. Being in the moment is what defines true reality.

  4. Yes, I find myself struggling in this same area. So many things, ideas and agenda’s can clog up our thoughts and we run ahead without living right here in the present. Thank you for the reminder that He is always with us! (Stopping by from FMF #42)

  5. My mind drifts when I am talking to God. I don’t know why. I constantly have to bring my mind back to him. Even though I’m not always present, thank you for reminding me that He is.

Comments are closed.