FiveMinuteFriday_Time

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, generous, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is time. 

GO

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,” ‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭12:1‬ ‭ESV‬‬

I’m on call today. I’m staring down the front end of a 16 hour shift. And if I don’t stop myself from trying to see around this amount of time, I could end up in a ridiculously bad mood. It happens. The bad moods. On the call days, I have to be so close to the Lord for strength or the time will seem to go on without end. I will have no generosity for anyone. I will be bankrupt. The call days are like marathons of time. I have to remember to put one foot in front of the other. Focus on the present moment. One minute leads to one hour leads to the finish line of this day. So I can run the race and, with the Lord’s help, be constantly generous to everyone I meet today. 

STOP

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Time

  1. Howdy Neighbor nurse! My mom is a nurse so I know all about those long shifts you pull. I rejoice in being able to spend some time here at your blog! I, too, take longer to write most of my FMF posts. I pray you have a good shift, and the Lord shows you some glimmers of grace through your day and weekend! Jenn

  2. A thoughtful post does take longer than five minutes – add the thinking part to it and it certainly takes fifteen 🙂
    In order to cope, I have learned to take things a miniute at a time – otherwise the stress gets too much.

  3. Excellent principle to apply to many different crawling, or demanding, chunks of time. Thank you for it.
    (BTW, I don’t personally see the wisdom in requiring 16-hr shifts for nurses… but there it is.)

    • Not to worry. It wasn’t 16 hours. I was on call and thanks be to God, it,wasn’t too busy. Got out of work on time after just 10 hours. 🙂

  4. Dear Micey,
    Such a great perspective, and I love the verse you included.
    Praying that the goodness or our Lord will overflow in generosity to those you serve today.
    Cheers!
    Leah

Comments are closed.