ItBeginsWithWords

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”‭‭Psalm‬ ‭19:14‬ ‭ESV‬

Dear God, 

So the first step in changing is recognizing and admitting you have a problem, right? Well, I have a problem. I’ve had it for a really long time. You know it because you know me. Thank you for choosing now to help me fix this thing. I am still terribly sarcastic and cynical and critical. I don’t want to be. I want to be generous — the opposite of these things. And I think a good place to begin is by changing the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart. First, would you help me to just be quiet, to keep my words to myself, to fix my filter? Would you help me to listen generously to others, to really hear their words? Because I know how much I value being heard. Let me do the same for others please. I sincerely believe this is a way to be generous. Thank you Father for your unfailing generosity to me. I love you jesus!

Love Michelle

2 thoughts on “ItBeginsWithWords

  1. My word for the year is self-control. There are 3 tough areas in my life I have a real degree of stability in, and others I have been getting an F- in. I already know I need help, admitted it and first step has been working on memorizing that verse in proverbs…”A man without self control is like a city broken into and left without walls.” specifically in the area of food, eating healthy, etc. etc. I am NOT making a new years resolution on this one. It is a lifestyle change I am hankering for. I would like to “carve” 15 pounds off my current body mass..but that will take care of itself as I begin (again) to exercise moderation and self control. Pray for me and I will pray for you…really I will 🙂 dm

Comments are closed.