12.16.15

“On that night the king could not sleep. And he gave orders to bring the book of memorable deeds, the chronicles, and they were read before the king.”‭‭Esther‬ ‭6:1‬ ‭ESV‬‬

One of the reasons I blog is to record the extraordinary. The memorable. I want to leave stories of the memorable things that have taken place in my daily existence. I think it’s really cool how the Lord has given us the ability to remember the memorable things. With triggers. Such as odors, sights, sounds, places.

Saturday was one of those memorable days. I have become an avid hiking enthusiast since I moved here to Phoenix. I’ve even made friends much faster than ever before because of hiking. The trails here are so beautiful, if not a bit dangerous. It’s better to hike with people than alone. 

So. Saturday, I met a bunch of new ladies for a hike in the Superstion Mountains. We hiked a trail called Siphon Draw to Flatiron. 2700 feet nearly straight up. The hike was only about 2.5 miles one way. It took strength, stamina, and stubborn determination. It was worth every ounce of energy. 

I always say I’m in the right place at the right time no matter good or bad. When we got to the top, it was snowing! 35 miles out of Phoenix! That was memorable in itself. But there was also an injured hiker. We all got together as a group to assist this young girl. Some wrapped her up in warm clothing. Others gathered material to build a fire. Still others started the fire. While we called search and rescue to give them our coordinates to send help. Then we prayed and most of us bolted back down the mountain before too much hypothermia set in. After descending for 2 hours, we watched as a rescue helicopter flew up to the flatiron several times to drop off rescue workers. We cheered and praised God for his goodness! Once we were back at the trailhead, we learned that the search and rescue team was already making their way down the mountain with the injured girl!

Memorable. Every time I make this hike, I will remember how a bunch of new hiking friends and strangers came together in one giant Samaritan effort for the good of one tiny hiker. To get help. To get her off a mountain in one piece. For the sake of a family we will never meet this side of heaven. Because she is loved by people, by the Lord. 

Hikers are awesome! God is the most awesome!

