FiveMinuteFriday_Table

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is table.

GO

Have you ever seen heaven? Sometimes, I catch glimpses. 

I had the pleasure of joining my cousin and her husband for Thanksgiving at his parents home. From the minute they opened their front door, I felt welcome. No awkwardness. They were warm and hospitable. All 13 of them! Plus my other cousin and her new husband. 

We talked. And laughed. And ate. From a bountiful table. As ‘Big Guy’ and ‘Jolly’ presided, ‘Big Guy’ saying grace. (The parents of my cousin’s husband) 

As a welcomed outsider, I stood at the periphery of the room, watching their joy, and caught it. The glimpse. This is the way heaven will be. Talking, laughing, eating, rejoicing. Grace. 

“I tell you, many will come from east and west and recline at table with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven,”‭‭Matthew‬ ‭8:11‬ ‭ESV‬‬

STOP

Happy Thanksgiving Friday!

6 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Table

  1. You grant us a precious glimpse of how we imagine heaven to be, with joy in our hearts and smiles on our faces as we feast together. Thankful for your words today, Michelle. Bless you. 🙂

Comments are closed.