11.16.15

“I asked you to stay longer in Ephesus when I went into Macedonia so you could command some people there to stop teaching false things. Tell them not to spend their time on stories that are not true and on long lists of names in family histories. These things only bring arguments; they do not help God’s work, which is done in faith. The purpose of this command is for people to have love, a love that comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a true faith. Some people have missed these things and turned to useless talk.” ‭‭1 Timothy‬ ‭1:3-6‬ ‭NCV‬‬

I have a love/hate relationship with social media. I love it because I can keep up with my family and friends who are far away. I hate it because of the silly ‘news’ ticker on the right side of the screen. There is no real ‘news’ in America anymore, only gossip and bashing people. 

Example: The Starbucks red cup ‘controversy’.

The guy who started it all says he’s a ‘Christian’. Seems to me, he falls in with the false teachers Paul is warning Timothy about in those verses up there ^. I just want to ask him why?  

It makes me so angry because he’s leading people down some wormhole away from Jesus. If there was ever a person who needed Jesus, this guy would be him. Because he doesn’t understand grace. At all. 

Useless talk!

So…

“Brothers and sisters, think about the things that are good and worthy of praise. Think about the things that are true and honorable and right and pure and beautiful and respected.”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:8‬ ‭NCV‬‬

Example: The beautiful acts of love and kindness being displayed in Paris. 

I want to be a person who focuses on the good stuff. 

Happy Monday!

