11.05.15

“So brothers and sisters, since God has shown us great mercy, I beg you to offer your lives as a living sacrifice to him. Your offering must be only for God and pleasing to him, which is the spiritual way for you to worship.”

‭‭Romans‬ ‭12:1‬ ‭NCV‬‬

Now that October is over, now that I’ve gotten in the habit of writing daily, I’d like to continue. I’m not sure what daily writing will look like, but I want the words I write to honor the Lord. I don’t want to try to create themes or titles because that seems to shut my brain down. I think my writing will look more devotional, based on my thoughts about the Word of the Lord, how it moves me, my heart. 

Because when you get down to brass tacks, the only words that matter belong to God. He is everything. Without him, I’d still be walking around in the dark. And not just any kind of dark. It was the dark of a very deep cave. Ever been in a cave? There are a couple where I grew up. You could go for a tour. When you got in as far as you could go, where the light from the bulbs was super dim and you were shivering because it was incredibly cold and damp no matter how hot it was outside, they would turn the lights off so you could experience complete and utter darkness. Brrrr.

Being without God was like that for me. So even though I’m still not entirely sure what it looks like to be a living sacrifice for God, I want to be. Because the Lord has shown great mercy to me. 

Happy Thursday!

Joining Lyli today. 

4 thoughts on “11.05.15

  1. I’ve been in a cave when they turned off the lights, and yes, it is VERY dark indeed! Definitely don’t like that kind of darkness, physically or spiritually! Keep the light on. 🙂

  2. Caves fascinate and terrify me in equal measure 🙂 I have a book recommendation for you, The Right to Write by Julia Cameron. It’s speaking to me as no other book on writing has ever done. Maybe it will speak to you 🙂

Comments are closed.