FiveMinuteFriday_Joy

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right?

Plus! In the month of October, we are doing things with a twist by participating in write 31 days. But wait! That’s not all! I’m also writing around my life as a nurse! Good times!

This week, the word is joy.

GO

As a nurse, nothing gives me greater joy than when I find out that a patient, not only survived the surgery, but went on to make a complete recovery. Or when a patient who doesn’t know the Lord survives to have another chance to know the Lord.

The thing about surgery is I only see one little part of a person’s story. I usually don’t get much before or after the surgery. I have on occasion gone to see a person afterwards, but mostly I try to keep up with them by asking the surgeon how things are going.

Sometimes, the ones I think may die, show back up looking better than I ever dreamed. God is good like that. And that really gives me joy!

STOP

Happy Friday!

This is day 23 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

6 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Joy

  1. I love how you find joy in the seemingly small things through your job. I think sometimes we already have our mind made up about a person or situation, and it’s awesome to be pleasantly surprised!

Comments are closed.