FiveMinuteFriday_Green

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right?

Plus! In the month of October, we are doing things with a twist by participating in write 31 days. But wait! That’s not all! I’m also writing around my life as a nurse! Good times!

This week, the word is green.

GO

Back in the beginning of my nursing career, when I was as green as new tree limbs in spring, my very first real job was in a tiny hospital in my home town. I worked on a med/surg floor that had around 40 beds.

This was the old days, when smoking was still allowed inside. In the nurse’s lounge! LOL!

I was 22 years old. I would show up for work, get report, then take off down the hall to meet and greet the patients with the first set of vital signs.

I was so green that those adorable little old ladies and little old men thought I was a child. No really.

Honey, when you’re finished here, would you get me the nurse?

I am the nurse. 🙂

What!? I didn’t think you could be a nurse at 12!

I was so green, I had trouble keeping up with all the tasks, handing out the medications, changing IVs, starting IVs, treatments, charting, taking off orders. Those first years were really rough. I actually had nightmares.

And yet, by the grace of God, I survived it all. I am no longer green. I am seasoned.

STOP

Happy Friday!

This is day 16 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

14 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Green

  1. I love nurses :). Out of the hundreds of nurses that took care of my husband when he had cancer, my favorite one had a green name ;)–Ivy! Nurses are unsung heroes and I salute you (and all nurses) for the wonderful job you do taking care of the ill (and sometimes uncooperative, cranky, grumpy and not nice).

  2. I’m grateful for your seasoning. I am a seasoned teacher, but a green writer. I enjoyed reading your post, and was inspired by your writing to try.

  3. What a delightful post! My sister is an RN and I have several friends that are nurses. My friend is a dentist and had to grow a beard when he was green as he got the same comments. “When you’re done, can you send in the dentist?” “I am the dentist”. 🙂 Your photograph is so joyful and life-filled! Thanks for sharing this week.
    I’m in a green season myself as a first-year school teacher. I’ve been substitute teaching for about 10 years, but it’s not the same as being the full teacher.
    ~Tammy
    (#6 in the linkup)
    (tammysincerity)

  4. All I could think about was what Kermit the Frog said, “It’s not easy being green!”
    I like that word – *seasoned* – I’m gonna use that. I’m not old, I’m seasoned. Yeah, I like it.

    GOD BLESS!

Comments are closed.