31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Patience

We live in a fast paced world. Everybody is always rushing somewhere. Get on any highway in America and watch people drive 10, 20 miles per hour over the speed limit.

I often wonder, where’s the fire?

This fast American pace has even bled its way into the healthcare system. Do more, with less, faster.

It makes me crazy! Because, when it comes to taking care of the sick, patience should be the order of the day.

The biggest pet peeve I have about working in surgery is the rushing, like we’re working on assembling cars instead of caring for people.

Patience people!

I have to constantly be the barrier between the providers who breathe down my neck to move faster and the patient who needs me to be methodical, careful, thorough, and patient.

It’s not an easy challenge to face.

This is day 13 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

