31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Storm

I can only do one case at a time.

I say this to myself and others often. But there’s the thing. Sometimes all hell breaks loose and one case at a time turns into a mass casualty storm and there aren’t enough people to keep the ship floating.

That’s what happened this past weekend. I got called in to work Saturday evening. I was call 2. The storm has to be really big for that to happen. It means everybody who can be working is working. When I showed up, there were 3 emergencies with a couple more emergencies on the way! It was crazy!

Sunday night was no better. Trauma after trauma kept coming in waves. I didn’t think I would survive. The not so funny thing is I only had to navigate that storm for 48 hours. The storm of a trauma center never really ends. The rain just slows down to a drizzle until the next downpour.

This is day 12 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

