31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Rest

When my day is done, I do my very best to leave the nurse behind, to find rest.

Spending 40+ hours a week caring for others in a stressful environment takes a toll.

I find I need a couple of mental health days per month in order to function at my best.

I guard my time very jealously. When I leave work, I also leave the world. I return to my home, my sanctuary, close the door, sink into my favorite chair, write my stories, watch movies and shows, eat ice cream cones, and Just. Simply. Rest.

Before I head back into battle, in the wee hours of the morning, I pour a hot cup of coffee, grab my Bible app, head out on the patio, and spend time with the Lord. In the coolness and stillness of the morning. Before the world wakes up. Before the next hours of chaos and mayhem begin. I rest in the Lord. He is my rest.

I need rest like I need food and water and Jesus to be filled up so I can be poured out again.

This is day 11 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

2 thoughts on “31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Rest

  1. There’s a lot of liberation here, Micey – in understanding healthy boundaries and setting them. Add ice cream to it – and it’s just about perfect! My house has a lot of people coming through it every day – the live-at-home boys still in school, the one transitioning, two out and married – but one couple that come by often. The moments where home finds itself empty except for me are precious – and I find that I need that quiet, the alone time to let my heart and mind roam and settle! Praying you have moments of refreshing this week – and over-flowing blessing!
    ~Maryleigh

    • Oh yes, those moments of freedom. I’m really enjoying sharing space with my #1son. We make pretty good roommates now that I’m not the boss of him anymore. Turns out I might not be good completely alone? Time will tell, when he decides to jump ship again. 🙂

Comments are closed.