31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Possible

I haven’t always been a surgical nurse. At the beginning of my career, I was a floor nurse. I worked in med/surg for 6 months before going active duty in the United States Air Force.

For my first assignment, I was stationed at Dover Air Force Base in Delaware. That hospital had 2 units. A multi service floor and a labor and delivery floor. I was happy to be assigned to the multi service floor.

But first, I got to spend the day in surgery. I scrubbed in on a breast biopsy. The surgeon had me hold retractors. It was positively repulsive! I never ever thought I could be a surgical nurse.

But 7 years later, with a lot of experience under my belt, in a civilian hospital in my hometown, a job posting opened up for an OR internship. Suddenly surgery seemed totally possible. 

This is day 6 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

