31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Embrace

At the beginning of my career, I don’t think I embraced nursing as much as nursing embraced me.

There is nothing easy about nursing.

It requires organizational skills that I still lack. It requires critical thinking skills, which, somehow, I have for my career, but not for my own personal well being. It requires a level of courage that, again, I lack in my personal life, but have for my patients.

All of these skills took time to develop, particularly organizational skills. I probably held my breath for the first 5 years as a nurse. I was terrified at every turn. So I dug in. I embraced nursing with tenacity and determination to be the best I could be.

This is day 4 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

2 thoughts on “31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Embrace

  1. I’m enjoying reading about your journey as a nurse in the 31 days challenge! So cool to see what each of these words means to you in your profession and calling. I’m in the #12 spot. Blessings!

Comments are closed.