FiveMinuteFriday_Family

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right?

Plus! In the month of October, we are doing things with a twist by participating in write 31 days. But wait! That’s not all! I’m also writing around my life as a nurse! Good times!

This week, the word is family.

GO

Nursing involves more than patient care. There is also doctor care, co worker care, and family care.

When you get a patient for surgery or sickness, they almost always show up with a family member or 2 or 10. People are cool in this way. Sticking together when times are tough.

Here in the United States, we are so self sufficient, so independent. But when we get sick? We want our family.

Even when a patient says he doesn’t want anyone in his family to be notified of his illness, they some how find out and show up.

Illness and death are the 2 times in life when it seems unnatural and sad to have a patient who has no family. Even then, most people have chosen friends to be their family.

As a member of God’s family, I know I have people all over this big, beautiful planet who can step up if I find myself without my biological family.

As a nurse, I meet each person throughout my day and step up to be his/her family while they’re in surgery. I protect him like he’s my own flesh and blood. Advocate for him. Comfort him. Hold his hand while he goes to sleep. Cover him with warm blankets. Explain everything that will happen so he feels less fear. Pray for him. Stay with him until I drop himoff in recovery and pass him to the next nurse who will take over that temporary family role.

Family matters. In all stages of life. Let’s stick together people!

STOP

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Family

  1. Yes, I was thinking along these same lines. This week I have walked with 2 close people who have lost loved ones. Neither are my family but they are both very dear to me. We are His hands on earth. Thanks for sharing these thoughts with us. Happy Friday to you!

  2. “Let’s stick together people”….with the awful news we’ve woken up to today, I think this call for action is needed more than ever more. If only people could open their hearts enough to heal the pain that prevents them from hearing this call. Loved your post. It reminded me of the Dr who conducted a (very sad and heart-breaking) surgery for me: I will never forget his kindness, the fact that he hugged me and held me close, held my hands as I was being put to sleep, and said such caring words to me as I fought away the tears…..his small kindnesses made absolutely all the difference in that awful moment in my life and I will always be thankful for that, for the choices he made in that moment. Helen

Comments are closed.