31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Calling

When I was 22, I became a nurse. I had no idea it was a calling. I just knew I was driven to become a nurse. What makes the story more interesting is how it happened.

I volunteered as a candystriper in between 10th and 1 1th grades. I hated it. I couldn’t imagine why anyone would want to work in healthcare. Then my dad had a heart attack. I watched his nurse take care of him and instantly knew I should be one. Just like that. A calling.

Parenthood is a calling too. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I became a parent. No idea it was a calling.

I only discovered what a calling is after I met Jesus. The cool thing is, the Lord walked me right into those callings without me knowing what they were or how they would affect and shape my life. Left to my own devices, I would not have chosen any calling. 

It’s a good thing the Lord chose for me.

This is day 1 of 31 days of five minute free writes. Be sure to head over to Kate’s blog to participate or read along or both.

Happy October!

2 thoughts on “31DaysOfLifeAsANurse_Calling

  1. So glad I found you! I spotted your impish smile a few entries above my own. This is my first 31 day challenge, and as usual, I am not really doing it like most people do it. But I am excited to see What The Lord will do with it. And with yours.
    Cheers,
    Leah

Comments are closed.