FiveMinuteFriday_Celebrate

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is celebrate.

GO

It’s crazy to realize the things we Westerners celebrate in the USA. Sports. Movie stars. Reality TV. Music. Money. Partying.

When did our culture shift so dramatically? When did wrong become right and right become wrong?

I am a nurse. I am called to be a nurse. To care for the broken and sick. I love my work. Really love it. I don’t do it for the money. I don’t do it for the glory. I do it because sick people need to be cared for.

You may have seen all the craziness on Facebook sparked by some unfortunate words spoken by women on The View poking fun at Miss Colorado for pouring her heart out in a monologue about her career as a nurse.

It led to a hashtag — #nursesunite.

Instead of idolizing people for their fame or fortune or beauty or celebrity, how about joining with me to celebrate nurses and doctors and teachers and fire fighters and police officers? How about we celebrate the people who quietly, unassumingly serve and protect the human race?

I am not just a nurse. I am a servant. I celebrate every patient I’ve ever had the privilege of meeting. I celebrate every patient who was healed. I celebrate the families I had the chance to reassure. I celebrate 30 years of being able to play a small part in the well being of countless lives. I celebrate the Lord who called me to be his hands, his heart, his light.

STOP

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Celebrate

  1. I celebrate you too, Michelle, and all the lifesavers like you. Thank you for sharing your passion and your heart with the world through your healing and words. Ever grateful to meet you, -your fellow FMF friend.

  2. Oh, beautiful you. What a powerful post. I remember when I was in Mexico some years ago and I found myself in the middle of a celebration: el dia del burro (the day of the donkey)…..all of the nurses/firemen/doctors/etc parading around the town and everyone coming out to celebrate them. It was truly beautiful to see this celebration of the people who are elemental to the functioning of society. [I don’t know if this is a general Mexican celebration or whether it was specific to that town, near Michoacan?]…..loved your post. Have a great weekend. Helen

Comments are closed.