FiveMinuteFriday_Learn

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is learn. (A day late because I couldn’t think of anything, which is just silly.)

GO

3 weeks in Arizona. Here are some things I’ve Learned.

  • I really thought I knew what hot is. I was wrong. It’s hotter here than any place I’ve ever been. Including Uganda.
  • When you ride your scooter 17 miles in the dark to your job and the air feels beautiful, it will NOT feel that way at 2:30 in the afternoon. It will feel like you’re riding in the fiery furnace with Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. No. Really.
  • Do NOT touch metal things in the afternoon.
  • ALWAYS carry a bottle of water with you. Even if you think you aren’t going to need it. You will.
  • Use Google Maps until you know where you are. If you don’t, you could find yourself on a road in the middle of nowhere. No gas station in sight. Running on empty. Just sayin’.
  • Jumping cactus and bark scorpion.
  • Do NOT stand outside in the dust storms. There is fungus in the dust that can kill you.
  • Do NOT drive in the dust storms either. You won’t be able to see anything.
  • Electricity is way less expensive than I thought it would be.
  • The city of Phoenix has less than 2% Native American population.
  • Hydrate. Hydrate. Hydrate.

STOP

Happy day after Friday!

3 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Learn

  1. You are learning so much about this new place already. But I love your bravery in stepping out there to try something new with your life. I have enjoyed the pictures you’ve shared on Instagram. I hope you continue enjoying the new scenery and meet some wonderful new people. Blessings, Carrie

  2. I also couldn’t think of anything to write for ‘learn’…..well, too many things that I couldn’t condense down, which made me end up being rather contrite (and annoyed with myself!)…..love the things you’ve learned (all pretty vital for survival, it seems!)….I have many a scorpion story from when I was in Mexico (little sneaky things they are; they get in everywhere)…

Comments are closed.