FiveMinuteFriday_Free

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is free.

GO

Nature or nurture? We are all born with the ingredients that make a life, a person. We start out fresh. Shiny. Free of impurities. But every minute of every day stuff gets added to our mixture. Our personalities are almost completely set in stone by the time we are 5 years old. 5. Years. Old!

People who are released from prison, actual physical prison, after spending a lifetime in prison, have an almost impossibly hard time transitioning to freedom. They don’t know how to be free. 

So when you live a life in bondage for 42 years, is it even possible to be free? 

The Lord says all things are possible for him. The Lord says do not be conformed to this world. The Lord says I am free. 

Every minute of every day the Lord is teaching me how to be free. And it is glorious! I am free to say no without guilt. I am free  to give generously. I am free to say goodbye knowing it’s not forever.

The door to my prison was opened on that day in 2005. I walked out free. Little by little I’m inching farther away from that cell. And it is oh. So. Glorious!

STOP

Happy Friday!

4 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Free

  1. Hi, fmf neighbor! And Florida neighbor since I’m in Florida too 🙂 We do have to learn what God’s freedom is about, don’t we? It’s the only true free there is. Thanks for your good words.

Comments are closed.