FiveMinuteFriday_Fear

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is fear. 

GO

What are you afraid of? What stops you in your tracks?

I’m not afraid of typical things like spiders, needles, the dark, heights, flying.

I’m afraid of people. The things they’re capable of doing. It takes a lot of effort for others to get past my security system. My guard is always up. The armor and stuff.

I’m afraid of spending money on stuff. Not having enough to survive. Even though I’ve never completely run out of money.

I’m afraid of turning away from the Lord like I did when I was a child the next time something really bad happens. It happened once. I don’t ever rule out or think I’m so awesome it couldn’t happen again.

I’m actually quite afraid of my job. Being responsible for the care of broken people. Ironic considering I’ve been doing my job for 30 years.

I’m afraid of not pursuing the things God has called me to do, of giving up, quitting. But Fear cannot be the thing that stops me from living. I refuse to let it stop me! That would be the greatest tragedy of all.

I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. Nelson Mandela

STOP

Happy Friday!

4 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_Fear

  1. I just love your honest post. To fear a job you have done for 30 years is such an insight. I fear my job, as well. It feels like I could mess up any day. That is however, what keeps me mindful, observant, and honest.

  2. Beautifully said. I am in a transitional point in my life and as you can imagine doubts and fears arise; however i do understand the need of having courage in the face of fear. Your post is encouraging.

Comments are closed.