June_17

Things I’ve learned while riding my bicycle :

  • People are really mean and hateful when they can do it on a hit and run basis. They can scream at you, call you names, tell you they’re right and you’re wrong, try to enforce the traffic laws when they don’t even know the traffic laws, get so close to you they almost run you over they’re so hell bent on making sure you know how wrong you are.
  • I am people.

I was riding along on the beach road, minding my own business, when an SUV got so close to me, I yelled for them to move over. Florida law is to give cyclists 3 feet of room. I was riding with traffic, also Florida law. The woman driving the SUV proceeds to yell at me for riding all the wrong way, not stopping at stop signs ( I admit I don’t stop, I yield and if a police officer wanted to give me a ticket, I’m sure he’d be right and I’d be wrong ). As she yelled at me, she got closer and closer to me with her giant SUV, so angry she was willing to risk running me over and killing me! She would have gone to jail for the rest of her life because she was right and I was wrong! I was assaulted by a stranger. I was so angry!

Treat others the same way you want them to treat you. (‭Luke‬ ‭6‬:‭31‬ NASB)

Then it happened. One of those “thus says the Lord” moments.

If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. (‭Romans‬ ‭12‬:‭18‬ ESV)

I have not been living peaceably with all. At. All.

I have been living like a self righteous jerk for awhile now. I don’t even know how long? At least since I decided to move to Arizona. So 4 months?

There’s the cute blonde running girl I see every week in the morning on my rides who doesn’t follow any of the rules of road etiquette. Three of the last four times I’ve screamed at her, assaulting her with why she’s wrong and I’m right. I even nicknamed her “my nemesis”. Oh yes I did. I didn’t assault her this week because I was already realizing I’m wrong to assault anyone for not doing things my way. And nemesis? Really?

And don’t even get me started about my job. I have a million ways of doing things that are better or more right than the way they do things. And when they don’t do things my way, I walk around angry and hateful.

I think the whole almost getting run over by a crazy woman in an SUV thing was so the Lord could get my attention. I’m Holy Spirit hearing impaired. He allows stuff. I was getting to the right conclusion on a very round about, painfully slow road.

Today, I abruptly reached the end of the road. Don’t know why? Don’t really care why. I didn’t die. Praise the Lord! Being right is not that important.

Happy Wednesday!

Thankful to link with SDG and Jennifer.

2 thoughts on “June_17

  1. Holy Spirit hearing impaired – that was great! A chuckle with a conviction. Yeah, I sometimes have a short fuse, too. Especially when people don’t do things the right way – (meaning my way and in my timing). Don’t you love how the HS gets our attention?!

    GOD BLESS!

Comments are closed.