FiveMinuteFriday_World

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is world. 

GO

I think I have a hard time living in this world because I am a realist. As hard as I try to see the world through rose colored glasses, I fail. Oh, most days I start out with good intentions, but then something happens that brings me crashing back into reality.

The world doesn’t like me. On the days I’m in a really happy mood (maybe 1 or 2 out of every 10), the world shoots me down for being too much. On the days I’m not happy (8 or 9 out of 10 days), the world doesn’t like that either, questioning what’s wrong with me. How can I win?

I am a misfit in a world that is like a game with too many rules I cannot figure out. I wish I didn’t care. If I didn’t care, I could wear the rose colored glasses and pretend the world is just fine.

So the million dollar question I ask God, how am I supposed to be a light in a world I don’t understand? I’m still waiting for his answer.

STOP

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “FiveMinuteFriday_World

  1. Joining you as your FMF neighbor. I definitely don’t understand this world either. But then I ask the question….Are we really supposed to understand it?

  2. Micey. I read your first thought and nearly shouted ‘me too’ aloud.
    I can sympathise with the whole being-a-realist-despite-best-efforts-to-besomething-else thing. It’s horrible not being able to see things in a rosy light! I am so envious of others who can! I even try to LIE to myself that I am optimistic! It doesn’t often work.
    Sending you fellow-realist love

    firefly

    • Haha! Thanks! I knew I couldn’t be the only one out here! I don’t even think I am a minority. I think the rest are just really good at fooling themselves.

  3. Our world is very complicated. I have found reading books, counseling, medicine, and acceptance of myself as me helps. I thank you for coming by my blog today. Grace is intangible and God knows so much more than we do.

  4. I can totally relate to feeling like a misfit. It’s so tough trying to find our place in this world. You are not alone, friend.

Comments are closed.